Most Crypto-Friendly Tax Countries includes Greece and Cyprus

December 7, 2021

1. Portugal

There are no taxes for cryptocurrency investors in Portugal. Also no capital gains tax or VAT levied for crypto transactions. You will also get a golden visa if you invest +250k € in businesses or buy a house for 280k € in rural areas, there are also startup or tech visa routes.

Portugal is the tax heaven for crypto investors and the deserved first place on my list.

2. Malta

Malta is also tax free for crypto investors and exempts capital gains tax and VAT and has implemented several crypto friendly virtual currency legislations. Several companies like Revolut, OKex, Nchain, Binance are established crypto firms in Malta.

Malta will give you golden visa with permanent residency for paying a fee of about 100k $ to the government. Citizenship is also possible after one year if you invest about one million euro.

This payed citizenship isn’t as easy as in Portugal, but makes a nice second place.

3. Germany

Germany has no taxes for crypto and virtual currencies if you hold them for one year or more. These assets are classified as private money.  VAT is exempted.

They even had this rule for stock until 2020 when the withholding tax was indtroduced after heavy pressure from the rest of the EU. Businesses however have to pay corporate income taxes.

Germany will give you a business visa or residency if you invest at least 100K euros in a venture with active investment.

For natural hodlers, Germany can be a ctypto heaven and is, compared to the quality of life in gerneral a great place for crypto enthusiasts.

4. Singapore

Capital gains tax does not exist in Singapore, so neither individuals nor corporations holding cryptocurrency are liable.

But companies based in Singapore are liable to income tax, if their core business is cryptocurrency trading, or if they accept cryptocurrency as payment.

The authorities consider payment tokens such as Bitcoin to be “intangible property” rather than legal tender, and payment in the cryptocurrency constitutes a “barter trade” where the goods and services are taxed, but not the payment token itself.

5. Malaysia

Malaysia does also not have a capital gain tax, cryptocurrencies are tax free.

Virtual currencies not a legal tender in Malaysia. The tax treatment will change if they are accepted legal tender. Foreign sourced income is also not taxable in Malaysia.

Malaysia does offer 10 year multiple entry visas.

6. Switzerland

Switzerland does not levy capital gain taxes if you buy, sell or hold cryptocurrencies for personal benefit. Ethereum, Shapeshift are well known companies incorporated in Switzerland.

Switzerland does not have golden visa program but it is possible to acquire long term residency for business activities.

7. Canada

Cryptocurrencies are not legal tender, referred as digital or crypto asset in Canada. Capital gains are taxable at the rate of 50%. There are no taxes on buying or hodling cryptocurrencies in Canada. Income or capital gains must be reported.

There are several migration schemes to move to Canada the most popular scheme among HNW individuals is Quebec immigrant investor program

8. Australia

In Australia, to acquire cryptocurrency as an investment, you may have to pay tax on any capital gain you make on disposal of the cryptocurrency. Records must be kept for all transactions involving crypto assets.

Capital gains tax apply for selling, gifting, trading, converting and using to obtain goods or services. It is added to the assessed income. Some capital gains or losses that arise from the disposal of a cryptocurrency that is a personal use asset may be disregarded.

Australia is offers a number of business innovation visas for the purpose of investing in Australia.

9. Cyprus

Profits from trading cryptocurrencies are not taxed in Cyprus. VAT is also exempted. Cyprus has the lowest corporate income taxes in the EU (12.5%)

Cyprus will give you resident visa if you buy a real estate for 300K. 

10. Greece

Greece taxes 15% on capital gains arising from cryptocurrency transactions.  There is no regulatory framework for bitcoin or cryptocurrencies in Greece.

Greece has the most popular golden visa program in Europe. You just need to buy a property 250K euro anywhere in Greece, there are other routes as well for business and govt bonds

11. Ireland

Bitcoin and similar cryptocurrencies are regarded for VAT purposes as ‘negotiable instruments’ and exempt from VAT, also mining activities. Capital gains tax (33%) apply for cryptocurrency transactions. Businesses have to pay corporate income tax.

Ireland does have a golden visa scheme offering immediate stamp 4 permission for investors.

12. United Kingdom

UK levies no taxes on cryptocurrencies for  buying or holding crypto asses. Individuals hold crypto assets as a personal investment, usually for capital appreciation in its value or to make particular purchases will be liable to pay Capital Gains Tax when they dispose of their crypto assets.

HMRC does not consider crypto assets to be currency or money.  Income tax on airdrops are exempted on most cases.

UK has welcomed innovative tech startups. There is a tier1 investor scheme and innovative visa route available for young entrepreneurs.

13. Bulgaria

Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies are not legal tender in Bulgaria. You are required to pay 10% capital gains taxes on cryptocurrency transactions. Businesses have to pay 15% taxes on crypto trading activity. Bulgaria has the lowest corporate taxes in the EU

Bulgaria has residence and citizenship schemes for investments.

14. El Salvador

Bitcoin is legal tender in El Salvador, the first country to adopt bitcoin. No taxes on capital gains on crypto investments.


Enquire Now