Anastasiades and Malas in the Second Round for Cyprus Presidency

Incumbent President Nicos Anastasiades and independent presidential hopeful Stavros Malas will lead the race next Sunday in the runoff election for the eighth president of the Republic of Cyprus.
The runoff election is set to be held on February 4, 2018, since no candidate secured today 50 plus one vote.
During Sunday’s first round, Anastasiades garnered 35.5% while Malas, who is backed by left wing party AKEL, secured 30.3%.
Democratic Party leader Nicholas Papadopoulos trailed behind with 25.7% while ELAM leader Christos Christou backed by his own party ranked 4th with 5.6%.
Yiorgos Lillikas of Citizens’ Alliance Movement came last with 2.2%.
The inauguration of the new President will be held before the House of Representatives during an extraordinary session, which will take place on 28 February 2018.

Participation in the first round reached 71.9% and abstention was 28.1%, the Cyprus News Agency reports.