Cyprus Abolishes Entry Restrictions for Arrivals From Five Other Countries


Cyprus’s government has lifted entry restrictions for citizens of five other countries after confirming that the number of COVID-19 infections in these territories has recently decreased.

According to a statement published by the Cypriot Ministry of the Interior, travellers from Belgium, Denmark, Monaco, Vatican City, and Jordan will be eligible to enter the Eastern Mediterranean territory without being obliged to follow testing and quarantine requirements upon their arrival, reports.

Besides the states mentioned above, Cyprus’ green list, in which are placed countries considered safe based on their epidemiological situation, also includes the following European Union Member States; Poland, Malta, Romania, Austria, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Germany, Hungary, Finland, Italy, Slovakia, Estonia, Croatia, Greece, France, Luxembourg, Lithuania and Slovenia.

The green list also consists of the Schengen Member States such as Iceland, Switzerland, Norway and Liechtenstein, as well as third countries, Australia, New Zealand, Israel and Singapore.

Based on the figures provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), authorities in Cyprus have divided countries into green, orange and red categories, taking into account the COVID-19 infection rate in them.

As for travellers coming from countries that belong to the orange group, they must present a negative result of the Coronavirus test, not older than 72 hours, upon their arrival in Cyprus.

The Ministry of Interior has revealed that the orange category consists of the following European Union Member States, Portugal, Latvia, Sweden, Netherlands and Ireland, and small states such as Andorra.

The orange category also includes the following third countries: China(including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan), Japan, the United States of America, Saudi Arabia, Canada, Serbia, South Korea, Lebanon, Qatar, North Macedonia, Azerbaijan, and Kosovo.

Passengers coming from red states are obliged to present a negative result of the Coronavirus test, not older than 72 hours, before their departure and take another test upon their arrival in Cyprus. In addition, they must stay self-isolated until they receive a negative result of the COVID-19 test, as this category includes countries highly affected by the virus.

According to the statement published by Cyprus’ Ministry of Interior, Spain and the United Kingdom have recently reported many COVID-19 infections; therefore, both territories have been moved from the orange to the red category of countries on Cyprus’ updated list.

In addition, the following countries are also part of the red list; San Marino, Russia, Rwanda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Belarus, Egypt, Thailand, Georgia, Armenia, Kuwait, Bahrein, Moldova, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro and Brunei.

Other territories which are not included in any of the groups mentioned above belong to the grey list. Citizens who belong to the grey list are required to follow testing and quarantine requirements. However, Cypriot citizens and their family members and EU/EEA citizens and persons holding Swiss citizenship are allowed to enter Cyprus, despite the current rules.

Source: schengenvisainfo news